VFS to open two new Visa Application Centers in the UK

The Indian Embassy is planning to open two new visa application centres, said Vikram Doraiswamy, India’s new High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

Vikram Doraiswamy, in a video posted on the Indian High Commission’s Twitter account, discussed the steps taken to improve the distribution of visa services for visitors from the United Kingdom to India.

The High Commissioner promised that the number of appointments would be increased to address the difficulties faced by British travelers in obtaining visas, which are available for booking on the online system.

The High Commissioner also discussed expanding the capacity of the existing Visa Application Centers to enable the centers to accept and process visa applications on Saturdays and on weekdays at noon.

The idea behind taking these actions is to increase the capacity to accept visa applications from the current INR 20,000 per month to INR 40,000 per month.

In addition, Vikram Doraiswamy assured that measures would be taken to check the misuse of the recent online appointment booking.

High Commissioner Vikram also promised that measures would be taken to simplify the visa application process for UK visitors in collaboration with the service provider.

India changes visa rules for UK citizens

Recently, India has changed the visa rules for UK citizens. Now travelers need to present themselves at visa application centers in the UK to apply for a tourist visa.

The decision forces thousands of British tourists to postpone their holidays because there are no visa appointments available prior to the departure of their flights.

Until now, most visitors to the United Kingdom have paid visa brokers to secure their tourist visas for India.

Request for resumption of e-tourist visa for UK citizens

Recently, the Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO) has approached the Prime Minister’s Office to request restoration of e-tourist visas for the UK and Canada.

The association has requested Prime Minister Modi’s intervention to restore e-tourist visas to the United Kingdom, Canada and other major source markets as they send the vast majority of foreign tourists to India.

As per the order of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), the government extended the e-tourist visa facility to 156 countries in March 2022 as before.

But the countries of the UK, Canada, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman were not included in the March order. She says that compared to last year, she was given security reasons for this during meetings with MHA and MEA officials.

For more such updates, Leverage Edu News Follow!

Leave a Comment